SMS Interest Groups and Communities

The Interest Groups and Communities within the SMS provide another opportunity for our members to connect and network with those who have similar interests. We encourage all of our members to take advantage of the benefits the IG&Cs offer!

The primary purpose of the Interest Groups and Communities within the SMS is to act as a catalyst for building and disseminating new ideas in research, practice, and teaching around a set of core issues in strategic management. Each IG&C recognizes a major, individual stream of practice and research interest, and aims to serve the needs of members with special interests in this stream of work.

During each Annual Conference, the IG&Cs each foster a competitive track of research proposals, as well as several issue-specific sessions and workshops to cultivate new research in the field.

Members of the SMS can elect to join up to two IGs and any of the Communities of their choice; additional IGs may be added for a nominal fee.

We are excited to announce the newly elected members of the Interest Group and Community Leadership!


Associate Program Chair



Interest Group

      Shelby Gai
Behavioral Strategy
Daniella Laureiro-Martínez   Cha Li


    Chengwei Liu
      Jorge Guzman
Competitive Strategy
Olga Hawn   Elena Plaksenkova
      Elie Sung
      Darcy Fudge
Cooperative Strategy
Nicholas Argyres   Anna Minà
      Nuno Oliveira


Elisa Alvarez-Garrido
Corporate Strategy
Arkadiy Sakhartov   Philipp Meyer-Doyle


Susan Perkins


Florence Honore
Entrepreneurship & Strategy
Gary Dushnitsky   Timothy Ott
      Chiara Spina
      Sabina Nielsen
Global Strategy
Esther Tippmann   Linda Rademaker
      Andre Sammartino
      Julia Bodner
Knowledge & Innovation
Elizabeth Altman   Thorsten Grohsjean
      Kristina McElheran



Vontrese Pamphile
Stakeholder Strategy
Mark DesJardine


Cuili Qian



Georg Wernicke



Bukky Akinsanmi Oyedeji
Strategic Human Capital
Matthew Bidwell


Moshe Barach



Victoria Sevcenko



Lorenz Graf-Vlachy
Strategic Leadership & Governance
Guoli Chen


Mariano Heyden



Ann Mooney Murphy







Renate Kratochvil
Strategy Practice
J Ignacio Canales


Theresa Langenmayr



Madeleine Rauch



Saeed Khanagha
Strategy Process
Carlo Salvato


Saoure Kouame



Natalia Vuori

Associate Program Chair







Valentina Assenova
Research Methods
Anne Jacqueminet


Elena Plaksenkova



Weiting Zheng







Valerie Claude-Gaudillat
Felipe Monteiro


David King



Sabine Reisinger